Let’s bring everyone up to speed!

OK, this is a great time to catch up on what has happened so far in my exercise extravaganza…

So we are jumping from the start of week 2 to the end of week 8.  Here is a synopsis of what we missed.

Week 2 – No spin bike.  They substituted stairs and lots of them.  Very hard workouts but no further ass damage so it was good.

Week 3 – back on the spin bike for Mondays and Wednesdays.  I sucked it up though and fought my most ingrained ass instincts.

Week 4 – More of the same.  You can see why I haven’t been doing daily updates, a lot of the same stuff…

Week 5 – I have to admit that my ass is getting used to it a bit and the gel seat definitely helps.  Now the big thing with the bike is when we do lengthy “standing and pedaling” sessions my feet literally go numb.  That can’t be good.  It’s like the bike is learning and adapting to cause me problems.  [Schwarzenegger voice] “At 5:23 PM, the spinning bike became self aware… at 5:24 PM, it fired it’s ass missles… finding them less effective, it began to attack the feet.”

I’ve also started to track what I eat on http://www.sparkpeople.com and I’ve found that I actually don’t eat enough food (seriously).  We don’t buy bread anymore, just whole grain tortillas, we have been eating many more vegtables and have not had a noodle based dish in weeks… that’s a big turnaround… especially for my son who basically lived on the CBAD diet (Chef Boy Ar Dee)… is that how you spell it?… if only I had access to some sort of engine that searched for answers for me… oh well.

Anyway… back to the synopsis

I also had an “Intro to the Nautilus Equipment” with a personal trainer who gave me one on one instruction and a lifting plan.  This makes a huge difference.  Even when I was in shape (long long ago) I would just randomly wander around the gym jumping onto any random piece of equipment, not adjusting the seat or other settings and doing as many reps as I could as fast as I could.  You either are or you see these people all of the time in the gym.  They wander around with no idea of what to do until they see an open machine and just sit down and start ‘working out’.  Hahaha fools!  I now work out with Nautilus on Tuesday’s and Saturdays.  This seems to have helped my metabolism a lot.

Week 6 – Arthur is sick, then I get sick so I only made it to Monday on this week.  Not the swine flu, just some sort of sinus infection that made me feel dizzy.  I had a dream where I passed out and fell off the spin bike but my feet were still strapped in and my legs snapped.  So no workouts until Friday night when I did some barbell stuff while I watched the Penguins play.  Will this set us back?  Oh no!!

Week 7- Water week!  We are in the pool this week.  We are on the bikes on Monday, with the kids in the pool, then everyone in the pool on Tuesday (switched from Thursday because Trick or Treat was on Thursday here), then just adults in the pool on Wednesday.  The substitute instructor for the Tuesday workout was weak and let the kids control the action so it was a very light workout.  The Wednesday workout in he pool with our regular crazy lady was very hard.  45 minutes straight of running and jumping and other wacky crap.  Strangely, the pool day was the hardest ‘high impact’ day for my knees.  Then Thursday was Trick or Treat which was about a 2 mile walk on steep hills canceled out by candy.  The groups nutritionist said to only have 2 pieces a day but our crazy instructor said we could have a handful… so we all went with the crazy instructor.  Then on Saturday, I walked in the local Halloween parade handing out shiny Trick or Treat bags.

Week 8 – Back to the bike with a vengence.  Holy crap… Crazy lady decided that we needed to start to do more “standing and cycling” which is good for the ass… but your quads and feet are doomed.  3 minutes straight of standing and cycling has you begging for ass pain.  Some weirdos pay money for this sort of treatment… anyway, from week 7 to week 8, my weight dropped 4 pounds… and I just ran to weigh myself and it says I weigh 330 so that is what… 8 lbs?  a pound a week is a good number especially when I am adding muscle at the same time.  I am down one belt notch which is a good measurement.   This isn’t biggest loser where they get paid to spend all day every day working out and obsessing about their weight with a fully stocked and staffed health kitchen.  My son has dropped 6 pounds… he has improved his food choices and works out on the elliptical and treadmill too.  My wife has dropped 10 pounds as of today and she hasn’t even been to most of the workouts… (she gains and loses 5 pounds a day all of the time… but still, she hasn’t been this low for a long time)

So what we’ve learned so far:  1. Exercise more.  2. Stop eating noodles. 3. ??? 4. Profit.

I will try to keep up with at least a once a week update.  I also plan on adding other categories so I can “blog” about other things… possibly using it as a weapon.  “I am so going to blog about this” can get you out of a ticket I hear.

Leave a comment